Resilient Australia Awards

Resilient Australia Award Logo 2021

Applications for the 2022 Resilient Australia Awards are now closed.

The Resilient Australia Awards celebrate and promote initiatives that build whole of community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Australia, as well as images capturing resilience in action. The awards recognise collaboration and innovative thinking across all sectors.

Now in its 23rd year, the awards recognise outstanding contributions in each state and territory across seven categories: business, community, government, local government, mental health and wellbeing, school, and photography. The awards recognise a wide range of initiatives; with past projects centred on risk assessment and mitigation; mental health and wellbeing; education, training and research; and community engagement, as well as response and recovery.

State and territory award winners are considered for national award categories, along with projects entered directly to the national awards. Projects selected as national finalists will benefit from national exposure through a range of communication channels.

The Resilient Australia Awards is proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in partnership with the states and territories and managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (AIDR).

Submissions for the 2022 awards program must relate to projects or initiatives that commenced after 1 January 2020 or demonstrate significant outcomes or enhancements since 1 January 2020.

Key Dates

Submissions open

Monday, 7 March 2022

Submissions Close

Monday, 13 June 2022

People's Choice voting: Resilient Australia Photography Awards

16-30 June 2022

State awards ceremony

August - October 2022

National Resilient Australia Awards Ceremony

November - December 2022


Award Categories

Resilient Australia Award categories 2022

Submission requirements

Projects and photos must be submitted online via the Resilient Australia Awards platform

If the submission includes any material where the copyright or intellectual property rights are owned by a third party (including text, images, and multimedia), the project team must obtain permission to include the material from the copyright owner and/or intellectual property rights holder.

Contact details

Enquiries regarding the Resilient Australia Awards should be emailed to the AIDR Awards Coordinator via

Further Information

Phone or email the SAFECOM grants administration team: