CLOSE My Links

Emergency Services Awards

In May 2001 State Cabinet approved a new State Medal and a Ministerial Commendation for the emergency services.  These awards were created to recognise the tireless and extraordinary work of persons contributing to community safety through operational emergency service organisations and associated agencies. In February 2023 the Awards were revised by the South Australian Emergency Services Awards Committee and a South Australian Emergency Services Citation award was added the list.

The three awards are as follows:

SA Emergency Services Medal (SAESM)

The SAESM is given to an individual or unit who has demonstrated "distinguished and/or meritorious services of the highest order" in recognition of their significant contribution to the emergency services in South Australia.  The SAESM award is a full coin Medal set and framed certificate.

SA Emergency Services Citation

The Citation award recognises meritorious or courageous action and is a ribbon bar and framed certificate.

SA Emergency Services Commendation

The Commendation recognises significant service either operationally or through dedicated effort and is a lapel pin and framed certificate.


While it is recognised that most members of Emergency Services deserve recognition for their contributions, these Awards are intended for the few individuals who have gone that "extra mile".  Years of service alone is not normally sufficient justification for an Award.  Their personal contribution should in some way be considered to be truly extraordinary.


All career staff and registered volunteers in the SA Metropolitan Fire Service (SAMFS), SA Country Fire Service (SACFS), SA State Emergency Service (SASES), SA Ambulance Service (SAAS), Volunteer Marine Rescue (VMR), Surf Lifesaving SA (SLSSA) and SA Fire and Emergency Services Commission (SAFECOM) are eligible.


SAFECOM provides nomination forms and information to Chief Officers for distribution within their Services.  Nomination forms are returned to Chief Officers who ensure sufficient information is provided to support nominations and to endorse nominations to progress to the next stage.  All endorsed nominations are forwarded to SAFECOM, who are responsible for administering the process in preparation for the Awards Committee to review. Members of the Awards Committee include the SAFECOM Chief Executive, SAMFS Chief Officer, SACFS Chief Officer, SASES Chief Officer, SAAS Chief Executive Officer, SLSSA Chief Executive Officer and VMR Manager. The Awards Committee members usually meet in August each year to evaluate all nominations and make final recommendations ahead of invitations being distributed to successful nominees