CLOSE My Links

Resilient Australia Awards 2024 Submissions


The Resilient Australia Awards (RAA) celebrate and promote initiatives that build whole of community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Australia as well as capture and share examples of resilience in action. The awards recognise collaboration and innovative thinking across a broad range of sectors and initiatives that strengthen disaster resilience with communities, institutions, and the private sector. Innovative models and approaches that create sustainable change are highly regarded.

Since being established in 2000, the awards have recognised outstanding contributions in each state and territory across multiple sectors and disciplines. The awards endorse a wide range of initiatives; with past projects centred around risk assessment and mitigation, planning and preparation, and response and recovery. Winners from each state and territory are considered for the National Awards. Finalist projects benefit from national exposure via a range of marketing and communications channels and their presence at the National Awards Ceremony.

The RAA is proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in partnership with states and territories and managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (AIDR).

Submissions for the 2024 awards program must relate to projects or initiatives that commenced after 1 January 2022 or demonstrate significant outcomes or enhancements since 1 January 2022.


8 March 2024 Submissions open

7 June 2024 Submissions close

7 June 2024 - 21 June 2024 People’s Choice voting: Resilient Australia Photography Awards

7 June 2024 - 12 July 2024 State and territory judging period

26 July - 6 August 2024 National judging period

12 July - 30 September 2024 State and territory award ceremonies

26-28 November 2024 National Resilient Australia Awards Ceremony


Resilient Australia Business Awards icon Resilient Australia Business Award

Open to businesses and the private sector, including tertiary colleges and universities.

Resilient Australia Community Award icon Resilient Australia Community Award

Open to communities, community based or focused organisations, and non-government organisations.

Resilient Australia Government Award icon Resilient Australia Government Award

Open to state and federal government departments and agencies.

Resilient Australia Local Government Award icon Resilient Australia Government Award

Open to local governments and local government associations.

Resilient Australia Mental Health and Wellbeing Award icon Resilient Australia Mental Health and Wellbeing Award

Open to projects with a primary purpose or focus on the mental health and wellbeing of Australian communities before, during and after a disaster.

Resilient Australia Schools Award icon Resilient Australia School Award

Open to all public and private pre-school, primary and secondary schools only.
School, children or youth related projects managed by other organisations should be submitted in other categories.

Resilient Australia Photography Award icon Resilient Australia Photography Award

Open to individuals and groups.
Submissions will not be accepted without the permission of the copyright holder(s).

Submissions are judged in the state or territory they are submitted from, with winners from each state and territory considered for national awards.


Resilient Australia Awards webpage

Resilient Australia Awards 2024 Guidelines

Resilient Australia Awards 2024 Submission Tips

Resilient Australia Awards FAQS

Submission portal

For more information about the Resilient Australia Awards program, please contact RAA Coordinator at or SAFECOM at